Absentee in-person voting underway for the 2020 primary election

Aug 4, 2020

Stars and Stripes Quilt, 1861 by Mary Rockhold Teter's
Credit National Museum of American History

Absentee in-person voting for the State of Alaska primary commenced on Monday, August 3, and will continue through Monday, August 17.

The clerk’s office at Homer City Hall on Pioneer Avenue is now open Monday through Friday - 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for in-person voting. Primary election day is Tuesday, August 18.

Rachel Tussey from the City of Homer spoke with KBBI's Kathleen Gustafson on Monday evening. Tussey said the City is requesting people wear masks but not requiring them.

 “Tussey: We want to let the community know how they can vote in a COVID safe way. You will be asked to follow social distancing guidelines as identified at the polling place.
KBBI: So does that mean spots on the ground to stand on six feet apart? Are you requiring masks and providing them?
Tussey: Folks entering city hall are requested to wear a mask.
KBBI:Well, requested isn't required.
Tussey: We will be providing them to those who do not have one. And then to accommodate social distancing, there will be a limited number of people that will be allowed in the city council, chambers and the lobby at a time. And we will have little markers on the ground for people to, you know, keep that distance. There will also be a covered area outside so people can wait in line and not in the rain.” 

Free masks are also available ahead of time in Homer at Cycle Logical, Homer Saw and Cycle, Skiff Chicks, and Scott's Pharmacy.

On the primary ballots:
Incumbent Republican Senator Gary Stevens is running for reelection in
Alaska Senate District P, which includes Kodiak, Cordova, Homer, Anchor Point, Kasilof, Ninilchik, Yakutat, Seldovia and Tyonek. He has been in office since 2003.

Stevens faces Republican John Cox from Anchor Point in the Republican Primary.

Greg Madden of Soldotna is also challenging Stevens for the seat. Madden is on the Alaska Independence Party ballot.

In the Republican primary for State House of Representatives District 31: from south of Soldotna to Homer to Fox River, Incumbent Rep. Sarah Vance of Homer is running unopposed. She will face Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly President Kelly Cooper in the November election.

In House District 32: Kodiak Island and communities across Kachemak Bay, including Halibut Cove, Seldovia, Nanwalek and Port Graham, Incumbent Republican Louise Stutes is running unopposed in the primary and general election.
Absentee in-person voting for District 32 is available at City offices in Seldovia.

In the US House of Representatives election, Incumbent Rep. Don Young has two opponents on the Republican ballot: T. "John" Nelson of Chugiak and Gerald Heikes of Palmer.

On the Democratic primary ballot for the US House seat:
independent Alyse Galvin and Democrats Ray Sean Tugatuk of Manakotak and William Hibler of Fairbanks will face off.

Republican Sen. Dan Sullivan runs unopposed for the U.S. Senate on the Republican ballot. There are three candidates on the Democratic ballot: Nonpartisans Al Gross of Anchorage and Chris Cumings of Ketchikan, and Edgar Blatchford of Anchorage, a Democrat.

Alaskan Independence Party candidate John Howe of Fairbanks is running unopposed in the primary.

 To vote absentee by-mail, applications for primary ballots are available on the State's website: elections.alaska.gov or at the city clerk's office.  Ballots must be postmarked by primary election day, August 18.

According to the Alaska Division of Elections: "Alaska is a no excuse absentee voting state. Anyone may apply to receive an absentee ballot by online delivery."

Anyone who has successfully applied for an Alaska Permanent Fund dividend is already registered to vote.

For more information about absentee in-person or by mail voting in District 31, contact the Homer City Clerks office at 235-3130.

For information about District 32, contact the Seldovia Clerks office at 234-7643.