AM 890 and Serving the Kenai Peninsula
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Four Alaskans nominated for two IPHC seats

Courtesy of the International Pacific Halibut Commission

The National Marine Fisheries Service announced nominees to fill two seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission Thursday. Four Alaskans were nominated to fill two upcoming vacancies on the commission.

Current Commissioner and Executive Director of the Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association Linda Behnken is among the list of six names.

Commissioner Robert Alverson of Washington and general manager of the Fishing Vessel Owners’ Association in Seattle was also nominated.

Both Behnken and Alverson’s terms expire at the end of the month.

Three other Alaskans are on the list. Andy Mezirow of Seward owns a fishing charter operation and sits on the North Pacific Fishery Management Council.

Richard Yamada of Juneau owns a charter operation and is a member of the Alaska Charter Association’s Board of Directors.

Commercial longliner Duane Edelman of Valdez and Washington-based Groudfish Consultant Stephen Joner were also nominated.

The nominations will be passed onto the Department of State and Department of Commerce before heading to President Donald Trump for final consideration.

Aaron Bolton has moved on to a new position in Montana; he is no longer KBBI News Director. KBBI is currently seeking a News Director, and Kathleen Gustafson is filling in for the time being.
Related Content