2016 Municipal Election: Unofficial Results

Oct 4, 2016

Credit Image courtesy of City of Homer

The city of Homer has reported the preliminary results from the 2016 municipal election.

Bryan Zak won the Homer mayoral race, with 52 percent of the vote. Candidate David Lewis received 46 percent of the vote.

Shelly Erickson and Tom Stroozas have been elected to Homer City Council.

Voters rejected Homer City Ballot Proposition 1, with 53 percent voting no on the proposition. The bond proposition would have financed a new police station in Homer.

The Canvass Board will meet on Friday, October 7 to count approximately 300 questioned, special needs and absentee ballots. The election will be certified on October 10 at the regular Homer City Council meeting.

Editor's note: An earlier version of this story reported that Tom Stroozas did not have sufficient votes to be elected to Homer City Council. According to City Clerk Jo Johnson, 1,779 voters cast their ballots in this year's municipal election. Per Homer City Code, a candidate must receive at least 40 percent of the vote in order to be elected, which translates to 356 votes based on this year's voter turn-out. Erickson received 919 votes while Stroozas received 639 votes. Candidate Kimberly Ketter received 181 votes and was not elected.