Chris Kincaid photo.jpeg
AM 890 and Serving the Kenai Peninsula
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Cooper to Lead Borough Assembly as President

Photo courtesy of Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly

At Tuesday evening’s Borough Assembly meeting, Assembly member Kelly Cooper, who represents District 8, Homer, was elected as the new Assembly President.

Cooper replaces Blaine Gilman who represents District 2 – Kenai.

Assembly member Wayne Ogle, who represents District 3 – Nikiski, was elected to the Vice President seat.

Ogle replaces Brent Johnson who represented District 7 – the Kasilof/Clam Gulch/Ninilchik area and served as Vice President. Johnson recently termed out of the Assembly seat which he had held since 2010.

Paul Fischer was elected to replace Johnson, representing District 7 on October 4.

Daysha Eaton holds a B.A. from Evergreen State College, and a M.A. from the University of Southern California. Daysha got her start in radio at Seattle public radio stations, KPLU and KUOW. Before coming to KBBI, she was the News Director at KYUK in Bethel. She has also worked as the Southcentral Reporter for KSKA in Anchorage.