Smith Takes 2nd City Council Seat

Nov 4, 2015

The unofficial results of a runoff election for a Homer City Council seat are in. Heath Smith won the three year term with 62% of the vote. He defeated the incumbent Beau Burgess who finished at the polls with 38%.

Smith also took the lead in the October Regular Election but in a race between six candidates he failed to take the number of votes required to win the city council seat outright.

Donna Aderhold was the only candidate to win a seat during the Regular Election.

To decide a winner for the second council seat city code called for a runoff between the two remaining candidates with the most votes (Smith and Burgess).